How I diet and exercise

Nobody asked, but I figured I’d shed light some on how I’m losing weight.

First, diet is obviously the key to exercise because you can’t outwork a bad diet.

Second, avoid the crash diets because they only work for the short term.

Third, go with the changes you can live with, but that doesn’t mean self control should be avoided.

Now here’s what I do, but please be advised, this is what works for me. I am not suggesting anyone do it the way I do it, because we are dealing with people of different ages, genders, and body types. I’m no doctor.

I believe in doing thing in stages. I didn’t start out with weight training and running. If you’re a big fat fat fatty like me, you’ll find yourself giving up super fast and burning out. Nope, I started with a low calorie diet. I like to keep it between 1,200 to 1,700 calories a day. If possible, I like to keep it around 450 to 500 calories a meal. For me, a calorie isn’t just a calorie. The type of calorie I put in my body is important so I cut out all junk. That means no more cake, soda, candy, and other types of junk food including chips and anything else fried.

Seems obvious, right? Well, it is, but it’s not always easy to follow, so I planned what I could do to replace my taste for sweets. Nothing works better than fruits. Apples, bananas, and grapes are my preferred choices. Berries are great as well, but I’m not a fan of most of them.

I eat lean meats. Turkey more so than chicken, but both work if grilled or baked. I eat some red meat here and there, but it’s not my main choice. I’m fine with my white meats. I eat veggies like cucumbers and carrots and a salad here and there. Want to make a salad that is bearable? Sprinkle some cheese and light dressing on it. Just don’t over do it or else it defeats the purpose.

Cheat days are fine in moderation, but I don’t set days for them. A lot of people say they like do cheat days every two weeks, but I only do them when I want them which isn’t often. Cheat days are a psychological reward. I only had one cheat day during my time dieting and that was on my birthday. Honestly, I didn’t even want one, but when people bake and want to treat you, it’s rude to say no.

So after two weeks of just dieting, I decided to bring exercise into the mix. I started power walking. Now I’m a little crazy, so I do about two hours a day when I’m not working, but at my job, I do a lot of walking around. I average around 15,000 to 20,000 steps a day or 8 to 11 miles a day.

A week in a half after the power walking, I added light weight training into the mix. Mostly on my biceps and triceps, but I plan to increase it into my shoulders, pecks, quads, glutes, etc. When the time is right, I’ll start on my abs.

When I am below 300 pounds, I plan on introducing jogging into the mix.

Again, everything is about steps because my body needs to be in shock to keep losing weight. Doing too much of the same thing will potentially stall weight loss and I don’t intend to let that happen.

Well there you have it, that’s how I diet and exercise. If anyone is reading, tell me how you diet and exercise. I’d love to know what works for you.

 

 

One thought on “How I diet and exercise

  1. Totally agree with this. I’m staying within calories and starting off with walking once a day. I will slowly start to decrease calories while incorporating healthier food choices and more exercise. It’s a long process but I know it will be worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

