The BMI Myth

So I’m a happy guy. As of today, I’m  down 38 pounds. I looked at a photo I took in early April and the changes I have made have been stellar. It isn’t just weight either, my legs have thinned and toned up. My calves are poppin’ and my hamstrings and quads look fantastic. My shoulders, biceps, and triceps are starting to look good as well. Still, I have ways to go, but I’m pleased with my diet and training.

bmi-comparison

I wanted to touch on the BMI real quick. I’m sure most of you know what it is. The BMI is an attempt to quantify the amount of tissue mass (muscle, fat, and bone) in an individual, and then categorize that person as underweight, normal weight, overweight, or obese based on that value.

Penn and Teller gave a short rundown of it on their show — Bullshit!

http://www.sho.com/sho/video/titles/9167/body-mass-index

 

Keith Devlin, writer for NPR, busts the BMI myth wide open. It’s worth checking out because I know people who look at the BMI index, see their category, and get discouraged or depressed. Hopefully this article helps and shows the BMI index as the rubbish that it is. The fact that the government uses it as it’s formula to determine a healthy weight and that health insurance companies use it to determine your health costs premiums is sheer stupidity.

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=106268439

Leave a Reply

